New Hampshire is one of the smaller states in the U.S., but that doesn’t mean there isn’t room for plenty of great diving sites. The Granite State has a dive site for you, whether you are a beginner or have been diving your whole life. Duck Island, The Isles of Shoals, and The Lady of The Lake are some of New Hampshire’s best scuba diving sites. Some of the dive sites may have restricted access, or may require you to have a scuba certification or another more specialized certification. Please check site-specific diving information before planning a dive.
Scuba Diving Requirements in New Hampshire
New Hampshire law does not require divers to be certified. However, obtaining your scuba certification is an important step in becoming a diver. The scuba certification program will teach divers the necessary information for maintaining safety during dives, proper preparation for dives, and other important information.
Though New Hampshire does not require you to be certified to dive, there are some regulations governing diving and boaters operating near divers
- Divers must use a red and white Diver Down flag/li>
- Dive flags must be at least 3 feet above the water at all times
- Divers are required to stay within 75 feet of their dive flag
- Boaters and other vessel operators are required to stay at least 150 feet away from dive flags
Get Your Scuba Certification in New Hampshire
New Hampshire has a number of great diving sites, some of which may be restricted to scuba certified divers only. You don’t want to miss out on any of these spots. Be sure to visit our easy-to-use directory to find a local company that will help you obtain your scuba certification in New Hampshire!