Massachusetts is one of the most important states in the history of the United States. The Bay State also boats some great locations for diving. Some of the dive sites may require you to earn your scuba certification before diving there, and some may have restricted access for other reasons. Because of this, it is important to check site-specific regulations before attempting a dive there.
Scuba Diving Requirements in Massachusetts
Massachusetts does not mandate that all divers be certified. However, the training the scuba certification program provides is invaluable. Diving can be dangerous, so it is important to understand safety precautions, proper diving techniques, and what to do in case of an emergency. Though the state does not require it, most divers will recommend that anyone interested in diving get their scuba certification.
Massachusetts does have some regulations pertaining to both scuba divers and those operating vessels around divers:
- Divers must display a red and white dive flag
- Boaters must stay at least 100 feet from any dive flag
- When near dive flags, boaters must go no faster than 3 miles per hour
Get Your Scuba Certification in Massachusetts
Massachusetts law does not require it, but for safety reasons, all divers should get their scuba certification. Scuba certification programs focus on equipping divers with all of the knowledge and first-hand experience they need to be a safe diver. Use our helpful directory to locate a local business that can help you earn your scuba certification in Massachusetts!