Minnesota is not the first name in people’s minds when they think of scuba diving, but that doesn’t mean the state doesn’t have some great diving sites. The Land of 10,000 Lakes has something for a diver of any skill level. The wreck of the Madeira, the Crosby Mine, and the wreck of the Hesper are just a few of the great divers available in Minnesota. Some of the five sites may have special regulations or rules, so please be certain to check site-specific information before planning or attempting a dive.
Scuba Diving Requirements in Minnesota
Minnesota law does not state that divers must be certified in order to dive in the state’s waters. However, most divers will tell you: for you safety and the safety of those diving with you, you should be certified! The certification process will give you all of the knowledge and skills you need to stay safe during a dive. Some companies will refuse charter and transport service to divers who are uncertified because of the danger it can pose.
Minnesota does have a few laws on the books with regards to diving and boaters operating around divers:
- All divers must use a red and white Diver Down flag when diving
- Dive flags must be at least 15″x12″
- Divers must stay within 50 feet of the dive flag
- Dive flags must be displayed at least 30 feet above the water
- Up to four divers may dive under the same flag, but additional flags are required for more divers
- Boaters are required to stay at least 150 feet from dive flags
Get Your Scuba Certification in Minnesota
When you become a certified diver, you will be equipped with all of the skills you need to dive. This can help you stay safe and have a great time while scuba diving in Minnesota. Some of Minnesota’s dive sites may be restricted to certified divers only, so don’t miss out. Use our directory to find a local business that can help you obtain your scuba certification in Minnesota!