Missouri is one of the more underrepresented states when it comes to scuba diving. However, the Show Me State has some great options for scuba divers. Table Rock Lake, Bennett Springs, and Bonne Terre Mine are some of Missouri’s top dive sites. Some of the locations may have special restrictions or may only be open to those with scuba certifications or other diving certifications. Be sure to check each site’s unique requirements before attempting a dive.
Scuba Diving Requirements in Missouri
In Missouri, you are not required to have your scuba certification in order to go diving. However, some companies may require you to be certified or they will not transport you to dive sites. Additionally, the scuba certification program will teach you what you need to know to have a safe dive.
Though there is no law governing scuba certification, there are some regulation in place for divers and boaters in Missouri:
- All divers must use a red and white Diver Down flag
- Dive flags must be at least 12″x16″
- Dive flag must be displayed at least 3 feet above the water at all times
- Boaters and other vessels are required to stay at least 50 feet from dive flags
Get Your Scuba Certification in Missouri
The scuba certification program is the first step on the path to becoming a safe and effective diver. The scuba certification process can also open up new diving opportunities. Be sure to use our directory to find a local business that can help you obtain your scuba certification in Missouri!