Texas is a state that is most well-known for its cowboys and industry. Many people don’t know this about The Lone Star State, but it is actually one of the best states for scuba diving. The Blue Lagoon, 288 Lake, Texas Flower Gardens, and Mansfield Dam Dive Park are just a few among many of Texas’s most popular dive sites. Some of the sites may have special rules in place for their use, so please be sure to get the latest information for each site you plan to dive at.
Scuba Diving Requirements in Texas
Texas law does not require you to have your scuba certification in order to go diving. Any diver with experience will tell you that it is ill-advised to attempt to start diving without going through a scuba certification program
There are a few other requirements for both people going scuba diving and those operating vessels around divers:
- Divers are not required, but are advised, to use a red and white Diver Down flag when diving
- Dive flags must be at least 15″x15″
- Vessel operators are required to stay at least 50 feet from divers
- Vessel operators are also required to operate at no-wake speeds when within 150 feet of dive flags
Get Your Scuba Certification in Texas
Texas law does not required that you become certified to dive, but it is important for your safety. The scuba certification program will give beginners the hands-on experience they need. You will learn proper diving techniques and safety precautions, and this will help you stay stay long into your diving career. Be sure to visit our directory so you can find a local company to help you earn your scuba certification in Texas!